MSU Baseball in Palo Alto on June 1

June 1, 2012 by Justin Bugajski

The long wait of 33 years is over – the Michigan State baseball team is back in the NCAA Tournament.

The Spartans (37-21) earned an at-large bid as a No. 3 seed in the four-team Palo Alto Regional and will play second-seeded Pepperdine on Friday at 4 p.m. EDT (1 p.m. PDT). The Waves won the West Coast Conference with a 16-8 league mark and are 34-21 overall.

This marks the fifth NCAA Tournament appearance for the Spartan baseball program and the first since 1979. MSU went to the College World Series in 1954 and also played in the NCAA Tournament in 1971 and 1978.

Stanford is the No. 1 seed in the Palo Alto Regional with a 38-16 record and will play No. 4 Fresno State (30-26) at 9 p.m. EDT (6 p.m. PDT).